Catch 22 Ridings

After election note: This was the final Catch 22 recommendation list on May 2, 2011. It is our record. 


The Catch 22 Campaign is pleased to launch its recommendations for strategic voting for the 2011 federal election. In these target ridings, strategic voting can make a difference! For details about the criteria we considered in selecting these ridings see "Riding Selection".

Our plan is to have “anti-Harper Super Voters” defeat or block more than 50 Harper Conservatives on election day. If Catch 22 and other groups working for the same cause are able to orchestrate a significant shift in voting patterns in just a few seats, it will be a remarkable day in Canadian politics.

Below you will find our voting recommendations for 30+ vulnerable Conservative seats (Table 1) and about 20 vulnerable opposition-held seats (Table 2). There are four ridings that are too close to call at this time.

Super Voters, when united, can make or break politicians, parties and Prime Ministers. Voters in these important ridings will decide whether the opposition vote is united enough to defeat the Conservatives, or whether the vote is split enough to let Harper sneak up the middle. We have limited the length of the list to ridings in which there is a reasonable chance for success.

Catch 22 is registered with Elections Canada as a Third Party and is raising funds for advertising for the final two weeks of the campaign. Please make a donation so we can expand our campaigning, and volunteer and support Catch 22 in these vital ridings.

Each riding has a group that you can join to discuss the local campaign, and a riding profile with MP information, demographic data, election results, news, maps, links and more! If you are unsure of your riding, you can search by postal code at Elections Canada.


Table 1

Conservative-held Riding Catch 22 Recommends Current MP Profile
British Columbia
Kamloops—Thompson—Cariboo Michael Crawford (NDP) Cathy McLeod Profile
North Vancouver Taleeb Noormohamed (Lib) Andrew Saxton Profile
Pitt Meadows—Maple Ridge—Mission Craig Speirs (NDP) Randy Kamp Profile
Saanich—Gulf Islands Elizabeth May (Green) Gary Lunn Profile
Surrey North Jasbir Sandhu (NDP) Dona Cadman Profile
Vancouver Island North Ronna-Rae Leonard (NDP) John Duncan Profile
Edmonton Centre Mary MacDonald (Lib) Laurie Hawn (CPC)
Palliser (SK) Noah Evanchuk (NDP) Roy Boughen Profile
Saint Boniface (MB) Raymond Simard (Lib) Shelley Glover Profile
Saskatoon—Rosetown—Biggar (SK) Nettie Wiebe (NDP) Kelly Block Profile
Brant Lloyd St. Amand (Lib) Phil McColeman Profile
Essex Too close to call - check back Jeff Watson Profile
Haldimand—Norfolk Bob Speller (Lib) Diane Finley Profile
Huron—Bruce Charlie Bagnato (Lib) Benjamin Lobb Profile
Kenora Too close to call - check back Greg Rickford Profile
Kitchener—Waterloo Andrew Telegdi (Lib) Peter Braid Profile
Kitchener Centre Karen Redman (Lib) Stephen Woodworth Profile
London West Doug Ferguson (Lib) Ed Holder Profile
Mississauga—Erindale Omar Alghabra (Lib) Bob Dechert Profile
Oak Ridges—Markham Lui Temelkovski (Lib) Paul Calandra Profile
Oakville Max Khan (Lib) Terence Young Profile
Oshawa Chris Buckley (NDP) Collin Carrie Profile
Ottawa—Orléans David Bertschi (Lib) Royal Galipeau Profile
Ottawa West—Nepean Anita Vandenbeld (Lib) John Baird Profile
Simcoe-Grey Alex Smardenka (Lib) Helena Guergis Profile
Thornhill Karen Mock (Lib) Peter Kent Profile
Vaughan Mario Ferri (Lib) Julian Fantino Profile
Beauport—Limoilou Too close to call Sylvie Boucher Profile
Nathalie Arsenault  (BQ) Bernard Généreux Profile
Pontiac Too close to call - check back Lawrence Cannon Profile
Roberval—Lac-Saint-Jean Claude Pilote (BQ) Denis Lebel Profile
Atlantic Canada
Egmont (PE) Guy Gallant (Lib) Gail Shea Profile
Fredericton (NB) Randy McKeen (Lib) Keith Ashfield Profile
Miramichi (NB) Keith Vickers (Lib) Tilly O'Neill-Gordon Profile
Saint John (NB) Stephen Chase (Lib) Rodney Weston Profile
South Shore—St. Margaret's (NS) Gordon Earle (NDP) Gerald Keddy Profile
West Nova (NS) Robert Thibault (Lib) Greg Kerr Profile

Northern Canada
Nunavut Too close to call - check back Leona Aglukkaq Profile


Table 2

Opposition-held Riding Catch 22 Recommends Current MP
British Columbia
Burnaby—Douglas Kennedy Stewart (NDP) Bill Siksay (retired)
Esquimalt—Juan de Fuca Randall Garrison (NDP) Keith Martin (retired)
New Westminster—Coquitlam Fin Donnelly (NDP) Fin Donnelly (NDP)
Newton—North Delta Sukh Dhaliwal (Lib) Sukh Dhaliwal (Lib)
Vancouver South Ujjal Dosanjh (Lib) Ujjal Dosanjh (Lib)
Edmonton-Strathcona Linda Duncan (NDP) Linda Duncan (NDP)
Elmwood—Transcona (MB) Jim Maloway (NDP) Jim Maloway (NDP)
Ajax—Pickering Mark Holland (Lib) Mark Holland (Lib)
Brampton—Springdale Ruby Dhalla (Lib) Ruby Dhalla (Lib)
Brampton West Andrew Kania (Lib) Andrew Kania (Lib)
Don Valley West Rob Oliphant (Lib) Rob Oliphant (Lib)
Eglinton—Lawrence Joseph Volpe (Lib) Joseph Volpe (Lib)
Guelph Frank Valeriote (Lib) Frank Valeriote (Lib)
Kingston and the Islands Ted Hsu (Lib) Peter Milliken (Lib)
London—Fanshawe Irene Mathyssen (NDP) Irene Mathyssen (NDP)
Mississauga South Paul Szabo (Lib) Paul Szabo (Lib)
Sault Ste. Marie Tony Martin (NDP) Tony Martin (NDP)
Welland Malcolm Allen (NDP) Malcolm Allen (NDP)
York Centre Ken Dryden (Lib) Ken Dryden (Lib)
Atlantic Canada
Malpeque (PE) Wayne Easter (Lib) Wayne Easter (Lib)
Moncton—Riverview—Dieppe (NB) Brian Murphy (Lib) Brian Murphy (Lib)
Random—Burin—St. George's (NL) Judy Foote (Lib) Judy Foote (Lib)
Northern Canada
Western Arctic (NT) Dennis Bevington (NDP) Dennis Bevington (NDP)

Last updated by Catch 22 Feb 28, 2013.


  • Add Videos
  • View All

© 2015   Created by Catch 22.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service